Oreo Peanut Butter Chocolate Dream Dessert

DSC03702Put away your scale and put on a pair of stretchy pants, because this dessert is absolutely S-I-N-F-U-L.  But I can honestly say that it is worth every single calorie, carb, gram of fat and Weight Watchers PointsPlus value!

Let me introduce you to my little friend that I like to call Oreo Peanut Butter Chocolate Dream Dessert. The website I got the recipe from calls it Peanut Butter Chocolate Dessert, but I don’t think that title does this dessert any justice, because it is just so much more than that. Regardless, I would like to thank them for this recipe and also my slight gain on the scale … but as I said, totally WORTH IT!

 This sinfully delicious dessert combines some of my favourite things – chocolate, peanut butter, Oreo cookies, cream cheese and pudding. It also has a few other key ingredients that bring this recipe from yummy to YUMTACULAR!

 Okay, enough blabbing on and on about how amazing it is and onto making the darn thing!

 Here’s what you’ll need …

DSC03630

Crush up some Oreo cookies, toss them with butter and press them into an ungreased 9” square dish …

DSC03633
Get your mixer out and beat the cream cheese …

DSC03635

And peanut butter …

DSC03640
And icing sugar …

DSC03644
Until it’s well blended …

DSC03649

Now fold in half of the whipped topping …

DSC03651

Spread over the Oreo crust (I encourage licking the spoon after doing so) …

DSC03662
And sprinkle with peanut butter cups …

DSC03670
Layer 1, 2 and 3 are now complete …

DSC03671
In another large bowl, beat the milk and pudding mix …

DSC03677
And remaining icing sugar on low speed for 2 minutes …

DSC03678
Let the pudding mixture stand for 2 minutes or until soft-set and fold in remaining whipped topping …

DSC03683
Spread this mixture over the peanut butter cups …

DSC03689
Crush the remaining Oreo cookies and sprinkle them over the top of the chocolate pudding mixture …

DSC03701
Mmmm, just look at that Oreoy, peanut-buttery, chocolatey goodness …

DSC03702
Here’s a look at all of the layers …

DSC03704
And another look …

DSC03705
Are you drooling yet?!
After you’re done ogling your masterpiece, cover and chill it for at least 3 hours before serving …

???????????????????????????????

INGREDIENTS

  • 20 Oreo cookies, divided
  • 2 Tbsp butter, softened
  • 1 package cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1 1/2 cups icing sugar, divided
  • 1 carton Cool Whip, thawed, divided
  • 15 miniature peanut butter cups, chopped (I kept them whole)
  • 1 cup cold milk (I used skim milk)
  • 1 package instant chocolate fudge pudding mix

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Crush 16 Oreo cookies; toss with the butter. Press into an ungreased 9-in. square dish; set aside.
  • In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese, peanut butter and 1 cup icing sugar until smooth. Fold in half of the Cool Whip. Spread over crust. Sprinkle with peanut butter cups.
  • In another large bowl, beat the milk, pudding mix and remaining confectioners’ sugar on low speed for 2 minutes.  Let stand for 2 minutes or until soft-set. Fold in remaining whipped topping.
  • Spread over peanut butter cups. Crush remaining cookies; sprinkle over the top. Cover and chill for at least 3 hours.

This recipe says it yields 12 – 16 servings, but I think it’s closer to 8 because no one is going to want a tiny piece of this dreamy dessert, they are going to want a heaping, overflowing ladle full of it.  Maybe even two.

WARNING:  The last couple of times I made this dessert, I didn’t even get a piece of it.  My greedy guests (just kidding, I love them) ate the whole darn thing and never thought to save me a tiny morsel.  Oh well, that just gives me another excuse to make it again!

~ Jackie

7 thoughts on “Oreo Peanut Butter Chocolate Dream Dessert

  1. This looks absolutely delicious and deadly haha. Thanks for stopping by at my blog sothoughtfull.wordpress.com and commenting on my Oreo milkshakes post 🙂

Leave a comment