Skinny Poolside Dip

spd-b

When I get invited to a party and am asked to bring something, 9 times out of 10 I am requested to make my Jalapeno Cheeseball.  However, I was getting bored of making the same thing over and over again, so I decided to try something new for a gathering I attended this past weekend.  And so, I introduce to you … Skinny Poolside Dip!

I have no idea where the name for this recipe came from,  since we didn’t eat it poolside and it’s not a dip you would only eat in the summer … but I’ll stick with the name since I don’t have a better one for it.  Hmmmmm, maybe Creamy Ranchy Corn Dip or Ranch Jalapeno & Corn Dip.

Anyway, it was really yummy and very easy to make.  I was asked a few times at the party for the recipe and gladly handed it over.  And I’m pleased to report that I only got “Awww, you didn’t make your cheeseball?!” from a couple of guests, who were disappointed until they dipped right in and tried my new culinary quest.

Don’t worry friends & family, my Jalapeno Cheeseball isn’t retired and will make an appearance again, but it’s nice to try new things, right?!

Okay, now onto the recipe, photos and instructions …

What you’ll need …

DSC02894

Mix cream cheese & ranch seasoning until well blended.  I used my standmixer for this and it took approx. 2 minutes on low …

???????????????????????????????

Add peppers and mix on low until well blended …

DSC02905

Add corn and mix some more … 

DSC02916

Now toss in some olives …

DSC02913

Mix it all together for a little bit longer … 

DSC02924

Transfer mixture into a dish and serve with your favourite cracker (I used Multi-Grain Wheat Thins, ‘cuz they’re one of my favs)

DSC02927

INGREDIENTS
** approx. 50 “dips”
** 1 WW point per “dip” (not including cracker)

 

  • 1 red or orange pepper, diced
  • 2 jalapeno peppers, unseeded and diced
  • 1 can of corn, drained and dried with a paper towel
  • 16 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1 packet of  ranch dip seasoning mix
  • 10 – 20 olives, chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Mix cream cheese and ranch seasoning until well blended
  • Add chopped peppers and and mix some more
  • Add drained and dried corn and mix
  • Add chopped olives and continue mixing until all ingredients are well blended
  • Chill dip for a few hours before serving … or chill overnight if you have time

I plugged all these ingredients into the Weight Watchers recipe builder and for the entire batch it’s 53 points.  I would estimate there are about 50 “dips” in this recipe, so if you’re counting WW points, charge yourself 1 point per swipe (this is for the dip alone … so make sure to count whatever you dip in separately).

Enjoy!

~ Jackie

2 thoughts on “Skinny Poolside Dip

Leave a Reply

