Skillet Eggplant Parmesan

eggplantfinished

One night last week, my very sweet hubby decided to make me dinner.  Since the weather is getting nice here in Toronto, he decided to grill some veggies and make his super yummy and very healthy grilled vegetable sandwiches.  These are by far one of my favourite things that he makes.  He grills zucchini, peppers, eggplant, onions and peppers, crumbles feta on top and dresses the ciabatta bun with a homemade garlic mayo before piling the veggies on.  It is delish and I am salivating just thinking about it right now.  So, he meant really well, but unfortunately our dinner plans fizzled because our BBQ decided to stop working.

This left me with a ton of veggies – and since I hate wasting food, I decided to put all of them to good use.  I used the orange pepper to make my Skinny Poolside Dip and used the zucchini and red onion in a salad … but I had no idea what the heck to do with the eggplant.  It’s just not something I am used to cooking with.  So,  to Pinterest I went … and I came upon a recipe for Skillet Eggplant Parmesan.

It looked delicious and fairly easy to make … and I’m happy to report that it was!  And it worked out to multiple different meals for my husband and I.  One night we had it with pasta, another night we served it with rice, and one day he put it on a big crusty bun and made it into a sandwich for lunch (pictured).

This is a recipe I will definitely be making again … and I hope you enjoy it as well!

~ Jackie


What you’ll need …

???????????????????????????????

Get all of your ingredients ready for dipping …

eggplantparm3

Coat skillet with olive oil (I used my Weight Watchers oil sprayer) and cook eggplant slices for 2 minutes on each side or until browned …

eggplantparm4

Smother eggplant with tomato sauce and cheese.  Layer and repeat …

eggplantparm5

INGREDIENTS
** makes 6 servings
** each serving is 9 Weight Watchers points

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 pouch Shake’N Bake Ranch Coating Mix (or breadcrumbs)
  • 1 large eggplant, trimmed, cut crosswise into 12 slices (approx. 1 inch thick)
  • 2 Tbsp. oil, divided
  • 1 large jar pasta sauce
  • 1-1/2 cups of shredded cheese, divided 

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Beat eggs in shallow dish until blended. Empty coating mix into separate shallow dish. Dip eggplant slices in egg, then in coating mix, turning to evenly coat both sides of each slice
  • Heat 1 Tbsp. oil in large skillet on medium heat. Add half the eggplant; cook 2 min. on each side or until crisp and evenly browned. Transfer to plate. Repeat with remaining oil and eggplant
  • Spread 1/3 of the sauce onto bottom of skillet. Cover with layers of half each of the eggplant and remaining sauce, and 1/2 cup cheese. Repeat layers; cover. Cook on medium-low heat 20 to 25 min. or until heated through.
  • Sprinkle with remaining cheese; remove from heat. Let stand, covered, 5 min. or until cheese is melted.
2 thoughts on “Skillet Eggplant Parmesan

Leave a Reply

