Upcycled Coffee Canister Planter

planterb

This weekend I had an urge to craft … at 8am on the Sunday morning. What’s up with that?! Most people aren’t even awake by this time, but for some reason I wanted to roll my sleeves up, drink some tea and CREATE.

Now that summer is getting super close and the weather is starting to get warmer, I have been seeing lots of outdoorsy crafts popping up on Pinterest. We have been working really hard on our yard this year, so I decided to stop pinning and start doing!

What’ll you’ll need …

DSC03151
Start by gluing the twine to the coffee canister …

DSC03153

Wrap twine around …

DSC03154

and around …

DSC03156

… and around the coffee canister, gluing twine a few times during this process  …

DSC03157

Once you reach the top, cut the twine and try to glue it discreetly to hide any loose ends …

DSC03159

 

Place your favourite plant inside of your new creation …

DSC03162

And take a few moments to admire the transformation that you made …

DSC03171

I actually haven’t decided WHAT I’m going to put inside of this planter. I was thinking of planting herbs in it, but I’m not sure if the canister will rust and if the herbs will start getting yucky. I’ll probably plant some flowers in it or a hosta.  Hmmmm.

 

SUPPLIES

  • tin coffee canister
  • hot glue gun + glue
  • twine

 

INSTRUCTIONS

  • wash and dry coffee canister
  • glue twine towards the bottom of the canister
  • wrap twine tightly around the canister, making sure to glue in a few places along the way to secure the twine
  • cut the twine when you’re finished and discreetly glue it to the canister
  • get your hands dirty and plant your favourite flower
  • TIP: Place rocks at the bottom of the canister prior to putting soil in. Someone told me this helps with water drainage if you don’t want to drill holes at the bottom
2 thoughts on “Upcycled Coffee Canister Planter

  1. I love this idea! I’ve been looking at a lot of upcycled plant pots on pinterest recently but all of them seem to be just putting a new cover on a current plant pot and I don’t have a cornucopia of plant pots ready to be re-covered! I’m definitely going to give this a go, though maybe with a paint pot instead!
    aspiringupcycler.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

