Hawaiian Chicken

DSC03359
Aloha!  Today I am excited to introduce you to one of the best chicken recipes I have ever tried – Hawaiian Chicken. No exaggeration, it’s amazing … and delicious … and easy!  Oh, and best of all, you likely already have all (or most) of the ingredients in your kitchen.  Bonus!

I have my BFF to thank for this recipe.  Lori introduced me to Hawaiian Chicken at her son’s 1st birthday party.  Being a new mom, no one was expecting a full spread at the birthday BBQ.  At most, we were thinking burgers, hotdogs, store bought salads, etc., but that’s not what she had on the menu.  Nope, not Lori.  Everything was homemade, healthy and absolutely delicious.  I thought she had pulled an all-nighter working on it all, but she chose recipes that could be made (or at least prepped) in advance, so she could enjoy the specialness of the whole day vs. being stuck in a kitchen.  What a smart lady.

Anyway, back to the Hawaiian Chicken.  This is what Lori served alongside the countless salads and other yummy dishes … and it blew me away!  After one bite, I immediately asked her for the recipe … along with every other guest in attendance.  It was THAT good.

After many months, I finally gave it a crack and am happy to report that not only did it taste as amazing as I had remembered, but it was also just as easy to make as Lori had said it would be.  I served this to dinner guests and they enjoyed it so much that they went back for seconds.  My only regret is that I didn’t make more, so we had leftovers to eat for days.  Especially since the recipe below makes enough marinade to feed a small army.  Oh well, lesson learned for the next time I make this recipe.  Because there WILL be a next time!

Here’s what you’ll need …hc-1
Measure out 1 cup of brown sugar and put it in your mixing bowl …
hc2
Next up, the ketchup (hey, that kinda rhymes!) …
hc3
Now it’s time for the soy sauce (sorry, no silly rhyme for this one) and the rest of the ingredients …hc4
Once the marinade is all mixed up, pour it over your chicken breasts and make sure to cover them evenly.  Now stick ’em your fridge for 8 hours or overnight (which is what I did) …hc5
Now it’s on to the best part – EATING THEM!  After you grill ’em, of course 🙂hc6

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 3/4 cup ketchup
  • 3/4 cup low-sodium soy sauce (I used regular soy sauce)
  • 1/3 cup chicken broth (I used low-sodium)
  • 2 1/2 tsp minced fresh ginger (I used the bottled stuff)
  • 1 1/2 tsp minced garlic (I added a little extra because I LOVE garlic)
  • 6 – 8 boneless skinless chicken breasts (I used 7 large chicken breasts, but easily could have made this recipe work for up to 10)

INSTRUCTIONS

  • In a small bowl, mix the first six ingredients
  • Reserve 1 1/3 cups of marinade for basting; cover and refrigerate
  • Place chicken into a large, shallow dish and cover with marinade (resealable bags also work)
  • Refrigerate for 8 hours or overnight, flipping chicken breasts a couple of times to evenly coat the meat
  • Drain and discard marinade from chicken
  • Lightly coat the grill rack with oil
  • Grill chicken, covered, over medium heat for 6-8 minutes on each side or until no longer pink
  • Baste occasionally with reserved marinade during the last 5 minutes

I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I did!  If you do give it a whirl, please let me know in the comments section.  I’d be happy to pass your thanks along to Lori 🙂

~ Jackie

4 thoughts on “Hawaiian Chicken

Leave a Reply

