Banana Oat Greek Yogurt Muffins

bm1
You know what I love about bananas?  They are super versatile.  They’re delicious on their own, awesome in smoothies, incredible inside of peanut butter sandwiches and amazing in baked goods.  I also love that you can just throw ’em in your purse and don’t have to find a sink to wash them before you chow down.  Quite simply, bananas are a magical fruit.

I found a new banana recipe online that was oil-free and flourless.  I was a little hesitant to give it a try, since those are two very basic baking ingredients, but I had quite the banana graveyard happening in my freezer and I had to make *something* with them.  So, I thought I may as well make something completely brand new and out of my comfort zone.  And I’m glad I did.

I won’t go on the record and say this is the best banana muffin recipe I’ve ever made, but it was nice for a change and it’s really good for a healthy snack.  And at only
4 Weight Watchers PointsPlus per serving, you can’t really go wrong since these are pretty filling.

Here’s what you’ll need …

bm2

Preheat the oven to 400F and get your muffin liners ready …

bm3

 Put all ingredients in your food processor (minus the chocolate chips) …

bm6

bm7

Blend all the ingredients together until the oats are broken down and the batter is smooth and
creamy …

bm8
Mix in chocolate chips and stir by hand …

bm9
Pour batter in muffin liners and sprinkle a few more chocolate chips on top (can you tell I love chocolate?!) …

bm12


Bake at 400 degrees for 15 – 20 minutes …

bm13
And voila …

bm15

Yummy Banana Oat Greek Yogurt Muffins …

bm16

INGREDIENTS
** makes 12 muffins
** each serving is 4 Weight Watchers PointsPlus 

  • 1 cup plain Greek yogurt (I used crème brûlée flavoured Greek yogurt, because that’s what I had on-hand)
  • 2 ripe bananas (I used 3)
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups rolled oats (old fashioned or quick)
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 cup chocolate chips, mini or regular

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 400F and prepare a muffin pan by spraying cavities with cooking spray or lining them with paper liners. Set aside.
  • Add all ingredients except for chocolate chips to a blender or food processor and process on high until oats are broken down and batter is smooth and creamy.
  • Stir in chocolate chips by hand.
  • Pour batter into prepared muffin pan, filling each cavity until it is about 3/4 full.
  • Sprinkle a few chocolate chips over the top of each muffin (optional).
  • Bake for 15-20 minutes, until the tops of your muffins are set and a toothpick inserted into the middle comes out clean.
  • Allow muffins to cool in pan for 10 minutes before removing.
  • Store in an air-tight container for up to a week.
  • TIP:  My paper liners stuck to the muffins, so next time I make this I plan on giving each a quick spray with cooking spray

I hope you enjoy these Banana Oat Greek Yogurt Muffins as much as I did.  They’re a littler denser than an average muffin, but I think that helps to make them more filling and satisfying.

~ Jackie

Leave a Reply

