No-Bake Pumpkin Cheesecake

???????????????????????????????

Let me go on record and say … I love Fall.  I love everything about it.  The changing leaves, the pretty colours, the crispness in the air, Fall fashion (helllllllo sweater weather!), apple picking, pumpkin patches, pumpkin spice lattes, pumpkin muffins, carving pumpkins …  I think you’re seeing one of the main reasons I love Fall … PUMPKINS!

I mean, what’s not to love about pumpkins?!  Not only are they tasty, but they are also adorable!  They look just as good as a dish as they taste in a dish!  Case in point, look at this adorable pumpkin soup in a pumpkin!!  Who even thinks of this stuff?!

See?  Pumpkins are magical.  That’s why I was super pumped to make my first ever pumpkin pie for Thanksgiving a few weeks back.

Note: “A few weeks back” is not a typo.  While our neighbours to the south celebrate Thanksgiving in November, here in Canada, we celebrate Thanksgiving in October.   The second weekend in October to be exact.  It’s actually kinda awesome, since sometimes we luck out and get to dine outside because the weather is so warm.  One year my family even considered skipping the turkey and BBQing some burgers instead, but that was shot down quickly by a bunch of people who were craving turkey, stuffing, gravy and all of the Thanksgiving fixings!  *Ahem, me included*

For some reason, pumpkin pie was never a staple at my family’s Thanksgiving table.  I actually didn’t even try a piece of it until I was an adult.  I can’t say it was instant love, because I think pumpkin pie is an acquired taste, but I slowly came to love it.  And love it A LOT.

This year, I decided that I was no longer going to stand for pumpkins not being honoured at my family’s Thanksgiving dinner table.  Enough was enough.  If no one else was going to bring this festive treat, I was going to make it!  But knowing full well that pumpkin pie is something that requires some warming up to, I decided to make a milder version that was just the right amount of pumpkin and just the right amount of cheesecake.  And let’s just say “pumpkin pie” is now a staple at my family’s Thanksgiving table!

Here’s what you’ll need to make this No-Bake Pumpkin Cheesecake (hey, that rhymes!) …

DSC04063

In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugars together …

DSC04065

DSC04069

Once everything is well combined, add in the pumpkin pie spice …

DSC04075

And the vanilla …

DSC04077

And the pumpkin …

DSC04078

Beat everything together …

 DSC04084

Until it is creamy and you just want to dip a big finger in there and give it a try (please restrain yourself, because the best is yet to come) …

DSC04086

Add in the Cool Whip …

DSC04089

Now you can dip a finger in …

DSC04093

And why not lick the bowl once you’re finished spooning the pumpkin cheesecake into the pie shell?!

DSC04094

You may as well, since you have to throw this sucker in the fridge and wait for it to set …

DSC04095

But believe me, it is worth the wait …

???????????????????????????????

Mmmmm …

DSC04096

 INGREDIENTS

  • 1 package of cream cheese, softened
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 8 oz. Cool Whip, thawed or slightly thawed
  • 9 inch ready made graham cracker pie crust

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Beat together cream cheese and sugars in a large bowl.
  • Stir in pumpkin pie spice, vanilla and pumpkin.
  • Fold in whipped topping.
  • Spread the pumpkin cheesecake mixture evenly into the pie crust.
  • Chill in the refrigerator for at least 2 hours before serving.

I love this recipe for a few reasons.  1)  I had most of the ingredients in my kitchen already.  2)  It was so easy to whip up.  3)  It doesn’t require any baking.  4)  It allowed my family to make a new Thanksgiving tradition.  5)  Watching people take a small slice to be polite and then seeing them go back for seconds has to be one of the best feelings in the world.

Happy Thanksgiving (belated if you’re a fellow Canadian)!

~ Jackie

5 thoughts on “No-Bake Pumpkin Cheesecake

  1. Pingback: Baked Butternut Squash & Ritz Cracker Casserole | Sweets.Eats.Treats

  2. Thanks for following More Time! I’d like to see this as a GF dessert, too. i’m just now looking for one for my Thanksgiving post, which will be Vegan and GF. (I’m neither, but many readers have family members who need those foods. It’s quite a cooking challenge, too. Love that.)

Leave a Reply

