Baked Butternut Squash & Ritz Cracker Casserole

editdsc04159

I know I have already gone on record to say that I love Fall, but I feel the need to say it again.  I LOVE FALL!  I won’t list all of the reasons why again (if you really want to read them, you can find them here), but one of the main reasons is THE FOOD.  Fall produces so many seasonal favourites and that means making mouthwatering masterpieces!

Let me introduce you to my famous Baked Butternut Squash & Ritz Cracker Casserole.  I found this recipe a number of years ago and have been bringing to to potlucks ever since.

Most recently I brought this to Thanksgiving at my in-laws’ and it was a huge hit.  My husband’s aunt kept going on and on about how good it was and how she needed the recipe.  It was getting to the point where I was becoming a wee bit bashful.  Maybe this is silly and I should have loved all of the praise, but I was just feeling a little bit guilty because there was so much yummy food on the table that so many people worked hard to make, and I didn’t want my dish to steal the show.  I’m not suggesting it did, because as I said – there was SO MUCH good food – but I think this dish was just different and something no one had ever tried before.  Anyway, it was really nice to receive accolades since everyone in his family are great in the kitchen and can cook for an army.  So, I am going to bury that guilt and just feel grateful that my dish was well received and there were no leftovers.

Here’s what you’ll need …

editDSC04127

Cook your butternut squash in boiling water in covered saucepan for approx. 15 min. or until it is tender.

Next, drain the butternut squash and rinse it under cold water.

Mash the squash with a potato masher and add in the mayo, making sure to mix well …

editDSC04130

Add in the beaten egg …

editDSC04131

And the shredded cheese …

editDSC04132

And the chopped onion …

editDSC04133

Crush up some Ritz Crackers and add those in as well …

DSC04136

Mix everything together and put it into baking dish …

editDSC04139

Bake it for 45 minutes, then add more cheese and crushed Ritz crackers on top …

editDSC04148

Pop it in the oven for another 15 minutes (or until cheese is melty and bubbly like this) …

editdsc04159

Serve and enjoy with some turkey, stuffing, mashed potatoes, cranberry sauce or whatever else is on your Thanksgiving table …

editDSC04160

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 cups chopped butternut squash
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 1 cup shredded cheese 
  • 25 Ritz Crackers, crushed (15 for mixing, 10 for topping)
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 2 TBSP mayonnaise

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Heat oven to 350°F
  • Cook squash in boiling water in covered saucepan for 15 min. or until tender.
  • Drain the squash and rinse under cold water.
  • Mash squash and mix in all ingredients one at a time.
  • Spoon squash mixture into a baking dish and bake for 45 minutes.
  • Remove from the oven and top with remaining crushed Ritz Crackers and shredded cheese.
  • Bake for another 15 min. or until cheese has melted and is bubbling.

I hope this dish is as big of a smash at your Thanksgiving table as it was at mine.  You may even want to double up on the recipe!

~ Jackie

6 thoughts on “Baked Butternut Squash & Ritz Cracker Casserole

Leave a Reply

