Caramelized Onion & Beet Soup

editDSC03964
I am a sucker for a good deal, that’s why I couldn’t resist when I saw a giant bag of beets on-sale for $1.88 at my local grocery store.  I had no idea what I was going to make with them, but I decided I couldn’t pass up the great price and bought them anyway.


Off to Pinterest I went when I got home, looking for something (anything!) that could use up this massive bag of beets.  There were more recipes than I expected.  Who knew you could make so many things with beets?!  But since the weather was just starting to get cool, I decided to try this recipe – and am I ever glad I did.  It was delicious AND easy to make – my favourite combo!

Here are the two main ingredients of this delectable delight …

editDSC03913
Prep your veggies to be added to the pot (I sliced my onions and cut my beets into 1-inch chunks for easier boiling) …

DSC03917

Place the oil and butter in a large, heavy bottomed pot over medium high heat …

DSC03915

Sauté the onion, constantly stirring until it caramelizes and gives off a sweet aroma …

editDSC03916(In case you’re wondering, my onions have a slightly red colour because I sliced them with the same knife I used to slice my beets.  Your eyes are not playing tricks on you 🙂 )

 Add the beets and sauté until well coated with oil (approx. 5 min.) …

DSC03920

Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil …

edit

Turn the heat down to medium low, cover with a lid and cook until the beets are tender …

DSC03924

Let the soup cool a little bit and then transfer to a blender and proceed until pureed.
(I like to leave a few tiny chunks in mine)

DSC03958
Top with some sour cream, parmesan cheese or tzatziki sauce (pictured) and enjoy on its own or with a yummy, crusty bun to dip …

DSC03963

INGREDIENTS
** 3 Weight Watchers Points Plus per bowl

  • 1 TBSP vegetable oil
  • 1 TBSP butter
  • 1 large onion, sliced thinly
  • 2 heaped cups beets, peeled and cut in chunks
  • 4 cups chicken stock
  • 2 cups water
  • 1/3 cup parmesan cheese, grated
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Place the oil and butter in a large, heavy bottomed pot over medium high heat.
  • Sauté the onion, constantly stirring until it caramelizes and gives off a sweet aroma.
  • Add the beets and sauté until well coated with oil, for about 5 minutes.
  • Add the chicken stock and bring to a boil.
  • Turn the heat down to medium low, cover with a lid and cook until beets are tender.
  • Skim off the foam that appears on the surface occasionally.
  • Let the soup cool a little bit and then transfer to a blender and proceed until pureed.
  • Place the soup back in the pot and add the Parmesan cheese (if desired, I skipped this step). This is also the time to adjust the consistency of the soup by adding more water if you like. Bring to a simmer and adjust with salt and pepper.
  • Serve hot and top with the sour cream, parmesan cheese or tzatziki.

You will not be disappointed if you decide to give this soup a try.  It’s a nice break from regular Fall soups and I’m looking forward to making another batch soon!  Oh, and it’s only 3 Weight Watchers Points Plus per serving – BONUS!

~ Jackie

2 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion & Beet Soup

Leave a Reply

