Classic Creamy Spinach Dip

DSC04282

 We had a Halloween party last weekend and I wanted to make our treats extra festive, especially because it’s not every year that Halloween falls on a weekend!  And besides, when else can you make a pumpkin puking out spinach dip look appetizing?!  Okay, “appetizing” might be a stretch, but it did look cool!

I guarantee you that as unappetizing as a puking pumpkin may look, the spinach dip was delicious.  I used my go-to Classic Creamy Spinach Dip recipe, which I have been making for years.  A family friend brought it to a gathering and I spent most of the night hovering over it and inhaling it.  It didn’t take very long for me to ask for the recipe and I have been making it for parties ever since.

Here’s what you’ll need …

DSC04169

 Squeeze all the excess water out of your thawed spinach …

DSC04170

Transfer the squeezed spinach onto a napkin to soak up any additional liquid …

DSC04171

 Pour your dried vegetable soup mix into the mixing bowl …

DSC04176

 Mix in the sour cream …

DSC04177

And the mayonaisse …

DSC04184

 Next, add in your colourful ingredients – chopped spinach and green onions …

DSC04193

 Mix everything together until well combined, then cover and refrigerate for a few hours or overnight
(I prefer to make this the day or night before I need it to allow all of the flavours to combine) …

DSC04200

 Transfer the spinach dip into the serving dish of your choice (in this case, a puking pumpkin) …

DSC04282

 Serve with pumpernickle bread, veggies or crackers …

???????????????????????????????

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 package frozen chopped spinach, thawed
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream
  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 package Knorr Vegetable Soup Mix
  • 3 green onions, finely chopped

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Squeeze as much liquid out of the thawed spinach as you can until it feels dry.  Place squeezed spinach on top of a dry paper towel to further soak up any remaining liquid.
  • In a medium bowl stir together spinach, sour cream, mayonnaise, soup mix and green onions.
  • Cover and refrigerate for at least 2 hours or preferably overnight.
  • Serve with bread, crackers or raw vegetables.

However you choose to serve this dip, I guarantee it will be a hit at your next party!

~ Jackie

6 thoughts on “Classic Creamy Spinach Dip

  1. Haha, brilliant idea! I’ve never made my own until the other day. I always settle for Applebee’s and now that I know how simple it is to make, I will add it to my go to appetizers. Thanks for stopping by and commenting and sending me your way. I never would have thought of incorporating a pumpkin into the mix 🙂 it will be perfect for next year 🙂

  2. Pingback: Doritos Cheeseball | Sweets.Eats.Treats

  3. Pingback: Super Bowl Party Recipe Round-Up | Sweets.Eats.Treats

Leave a Reply

