Cranberry Apple Walnut Chicken Salad

DSC04337

Is there anything better than a good sandwich?  Well, maybe an overflowing bowl of poutine, a trip to Disney World, or a day at the spa … but a good sandwich is pretty awesome as well – and this one hit the spot.

I love carbs.  I could never be one of those people who eliminate carbs from their everyday life, because I love them too much and I don’t truly feel full without them.  I wish I could be one of those people who just has salad or soup for lunch, but that’s just not me.  I need bread in order to feel satisfied and full.  And to tell you the truth, even if I didn’t need carbs to feel full, I’d eat them anyway … because they are just so darn delicious.

I was craving a sandwich on the weekend and I knew that a turkey or bologna sandwich just wouldn’t cut it.  So, I opened my pantry to see what I could find and saw the cans of diced chicken breast I had bought at Costco.  I don’t resort to using canned meat very often, but I do find that canned chicken comes in handy for quick, on-the-go recipes.  I had also purchased a giant bag of Craisins from Costco (they’re great for baking and salads) and found a green onion and a crisp apple in my fridge.  I also remembered that I had some unused walnuts left over from another recipe, so  I decided to combine all of the ingredients together and discovered my new favourite lunchtime meal – Cranberry Apple Walnut Chicken Salad!

It was quick to whip up and tasted delicious!  Even my picky hubby liked it.

Here’s what you’ll need to make Cranberry Apple Walnut Chicken Salad…

???????????????????????????????

Drain the canned chicken breast and transfer into a mixing bowl, then chop up your apples and green onions …

DSC04306

Next, add in your mayonnaise …

DSC04309

Mix the chicken and mayonnaise together and adjust until it’s the consistency you like
(I love my chicken salad extra creamy) …

DSC04310

Next up, add in your apples, green onions and walnuts …

DSC04319

Then your dried cranberries …

DSC04322

Mix everything together until it looks so good you just want to eat it by the spoonful …

DSC04325

Toast your bread and top it with the Cranberry Apple Walnut Chicken Salad (and any other toppings you might like) …

DSC04329

Serve and enjoy …

DSC04335

INGREDIENTS

  • 1 can diced chicken breast, drained
  • 1/4 cup mayonaisse
  • 2 green onions, sliced
  • 1/8 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/3 of an apple, diced
  • 1/8 cup walnuts, chopped
  • salt & pepper, to taste

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Drain canned chicken breast and transfer into mixing bowl
  • Add 1/4 cup of mayonnaise, one TBSP at a time to ensure desired consistency.  Mix until well blended.
  • Add diced apple, sliced green onion, dried cranberries and chopped walnuts to the mixing bowl and stir.
  • Add salt and pepper to taste
  • Serve and enjoy

I toasted up some Country Harvest Cranberry Muesli bread, which accompanied my Cranberry Apple Walnut Chicken Salad beautifully.  I also dressed my bread with a bit more mayo and topped the chicken salad off with some salt and pepper.  This would also taste great with some lettuce, red onion and cucumber, but I didn’t have those ingredients on-hand, so I had this sandwich au naturel, with some apple slices on the side.  I bet it would also be a delicious and easy party app, served with some crackers or veggies on the side.

Bon appétit!

~ Jackie

Leave a Reply

