Happy New Year!

2014 was truly the best year of my life.  Not only was it a year filled with personal and professional growth, it was also the year that I married my best friend. And although I am sad to say goodbye to my most favourite year of all time, I am also excited to say hello to a fresh, new start.

For me, like many people, January 1st signifies a new chapter in the book of life.  It gives us all the chance to wipe the slate clean and live the next 365 days the way we want.  We get the opportunity to set some goals, make some plans and become the person we want to be.

However, setting the goals and making the plans is the easy part – it’s working towards them and achieving them that’s the hard part.  And that’s where you’re going to come in – I hope.  I am still planning on using this blog in 2015 as a place where I can post and share recipes, but also as a place where I can be honest and share my weight loss successes and challenges.

I started my weight loss journey on January 1, 2013.  After getting engaged in December 2012, I had every reason to stick to my health and fitness goals.  I didn’t set out with a specific number I wanted to lose, but knew I wanted to look and feel amazing in my wedding dress and also be able to look back on my wedding photos without any shoulda-woulda-coulda’s.

Success!  I ended up losing 34lbs between January 2013 and my wedding day in April 2014, plus I reached Weight Watchers Lifetime status in August 2013.   But most important to me was not the number on the scale, but how amazing I felt on my wedding day.  And let me tell you, I felt AMAZING.

Let me fast forward to a couple of months after the wedding.  I was doing great.  The pressure to lose weight was off, but I was still focused and didn’t want to undo all of my hard work.  In fact, one of my lowest weigh-ins was a few weeks after the wedding!  I was so proud of myself.  I continued to attend weekly Weight Watchers meetings, track my food and also workout.  Sure, I gained a couple pounds here and there, but I mostly maintained.

Then the end of summer hit.  I have no idea what happened, but I just didn’t care as much.  I didn’t love the fact that I had gained 5lbs, but I wasn’t losing sleep over it.  Then in November, 5lbs climbed to 7lbs.  And now 7lbs is 12lbs.  Is it the worst?  No.  I am still down 21lbs from January 2013.  But, I don’t feel amazing and I miss feeling that way.  So, here we are on January 1st, 2015 and I am ready to make some goals and changes …

1.  Track.  If I bite it, I’m gonna write it.  Even if I’m ashamed.  I need to remain accountable.

2.  Exercise.  At least 2 – 3 times a week.  I got some new workout clothes for Christmas and God help me if they go to waste.  That and working out makes me a happier person.   Believe me, I never thought I would be a person who said that, but it’s true.  Hot yoga is good for my soul.  I still hate cardio, though.  Pretty sure I always will.

3.  Water.  It sounds so trivial, but the more water I drink, the better I feel.  My skin looks better, my body feels better and I eat less.  Eureka!  I am especially fond of water with lemon & cucumber in it.

4. Create.  New recipes, new routines and new goals.  This will keep things interesting and will keep me inspired.

5.  Blog.  Sure, I’ll still make and post recipes that will deplete half my weekly Weight Watchers points in one sitting, but that’s what I love about this program –  I can eat things that are sinful and not feel guilty about it.  In fact, that’s what helps keep me on track.  I will strive to post mostly healthy, WW-friendly recipes, though.  And I will also let you know how I’m doing with my weight loss goals along the way.

Okay, so only one question remains.  Are you with me?!  I am here to keep you inspired if you’re here to keep me inspired.  Let’s do this together and make 2015 our year!

~ Jackie

3 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. Pingback: WW Weigh-In ~ Week 1 | Sweets.Eats.Treats

Leave a Reply

