Lemon Crinkle Cookies

DSC04666

 It was Christmas Eve and all the baking I had done during the month of December had vanished.
*GASP*
Never fear, Pinterest is here!

Don’t you just love Pinterest?  I should honestly figure out a way to make money from being on it so much, since so many of my free hours are spent cruising and surfing through the gorgeous photos.  It’s a problem, really.

Well, it wasn’t a problem on Christmas Eve, because Pinterest totally saved my bacon.

I had made a bunch of cookies and squares throughout the holidays and thought I had more than enough for my family Christmases.  Boy, was I wrong.  It turns out that my hubby had eaten more of them than I thought and was sneaking them from the freezer.  Ahhhh!

So, here I am on Christmas Eve with no car (my husband was out doing some last minute shopping) and no way of getting to the grocery store for ingredients.

Off to my kitchen I went and discovered I had all of the ingredients I needed to make my famous Peanut Butter Kisses.  Yay!  But I wanted to make something else for my cookie platter.  So, I dug through my cupboards and found a couple of cake mixes.

I typed “cake mix recipes” into Pinterest and up popped a link to this recipe.  I had all the ingredients it listed (and still no car), so I decided to give it a whirl.

And am I ever glad I did, because they were awesome!  So awesome that I only got to try one, since they were all gobbled up by the time I went for a second.

They were light, fluffy and lemony.  Yum!

Here’s what you’ll need to make these delicious Lemon Crinkle Cookies …

edit1

First step:  Zest your lemon …

DSC04635

Step 2:  Cream together your butter, lemon zest, egg, cream cheese and lemon juice …

DSC04638

Step 3:  Add the lemon cake mix to the mixing bowl, once the rest of the ingredients from Step 2 are well combined …

DSC04646

The dough will be very thick and sticky, like this …

DSC04650

Step 4:  Drop the dough by the tablespoon into the powdered sugar …

DSC04653

And roll it around until well coated …

DSC04654

Step 5:  Place dough balls 2 inches apart from each other on an ungreased cookie sheet …

DSC04656

Step 6:  Bake the cookies for approximately 12 minutes at 350º F …

???????????????????????????????

Step 7:  Cool on a wire rack and enjoy …

DSC04659

 

INGREDIENTS

1 egg
1/4 cup butter, softened
8oz. cream cheese
the zest of 1 lemon
the juice of 1 lemon
1 box Duncan Hines Lemon Supreme cake mix
1/4 cup powdered sugar, for rolling

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350º F.
  • In a large mixing bowl cream together butter, egg, cream cheese, lemon zest, and juice.
  • Once well combined, mix in the cake mix (dough will be very thick and sticky).
  • Drop by tablespoons into powdered sugar and roll around until well coated.
  • Place dough balls 2 inches apart from each other on ungreased cookie sheet.
  • Bake for approximately 12 minutes.
  • Cool on a wire cooling rack.

I know it’s quite a long ways away, but I think these might be the cookies I’ll bring to this year’s Christmas Cookie Exchange.  They were easy to make, delicious to taste and a big hit with my family!

~ Jackie

3 thoughts on “Lemon Crinkle Cookies

Leave a Reply

