Homemade Peanut Butter Icing

???????????????????????????????
Are you a peanut butter addict?  I’m not.  I like it and all, but I wouldn’t call myself an addict.
However, this Homemade Peanut Butter Icing recipe could change that!

I have a couple of girlfriends, who can very easily sit down with a jar of PB and devour the whole thing in one sitting.  And one of these lovely ladies is now pregnant, so when we were getting together a couple of weekends ago, I decided to surprise her with some PB infused cupcakes.

I toyed with the idea of making the cake, itself, peanut-butter-y, but decided to stick to a chocolate cake mix (thank you, Betty Crocker) and peanut-butter-ify the icing instead.

OMG, was it ever good!!

It was creamy and gooey, but maintained a firm enough consistency to allow me to pipe the icing onto the cupcakes successfully.

I wasn’t sure if the recipe would make enough for the 24 cupcakes I baked, but it was way more than enough.  In fact, I had some leftover and kept it in the icing bag to enjoy solo.  Yes, it was that good!

Shockingly, there were a few cupcakes left over, so I brought them to my Mom & Dad’s house for our Family Day function.  They were just as much of a hit there!

Okay, enough blabbing about how good they were.

Here’s what you’ll need to make these bad boys …

DSC04877
Mix your powdered sugar, peanut butter and room temperature butter in a bowl with an electric mixer (I used my KitchenAid® Stand Mixer, because I am obsessed)

DSC04882

Once you have that mixed, add your vanilla extract …

DSC04886

And heavy cream …

DSC04887

Mix everything together until it is all combined and smooth …

DSC04892

I used a Wilton 2D tip to pipe the icing onto my cupcakes …

???????????????????????????????

Since I didn’t know how far the icing was going to go, I piped the cupcakes with varying amounts of icing …

DSC04901

 And here they are on my handy-dandy cupcake stand, which spins and everything 🙂

???????????????????????????????
INGREDIENTS

  • 1 cup of icing sugar
  • 1 cup of peanut butter
  • 5 TBSP unsalted room temperature butter (I only had salted butter, so that’s what I used and it tasted great)
  • 3/4 tsp of vanilla extract
  • 1/3 cup of heavy cream

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Mix together icing sugar, peanut butter and room temperature butter with an electric mixer until well combined
  • Mix in vanilla extract and heavy cream
  • Once everything is well-combined, decorate the cake or cupcakes of your choosing

It’s been just over a week since I made this icing and it’s still tasting yummy in my piping bag.  It takes everything in me not to devour the whole thing, but I keep telling myself it will last longer if I ration it out 😉

~ Jackie

Leave a Reply

