Skinny Scalloped Sweet Potatoes

DSC04029

 I am always looks for easy, healthy side dishes that have a lot of flavour and don’t make me feel like I’m watching what I’m eating.  And I can truly say that these Skinny Scalloped Potatoes hit the mark!


I bought a mandolin a few weeks ago and have been DYING to try it.  It’s one of those things I always put on my Christmas list, but never ended up getting it.  So finally, I just went and bought it myself.  And man, do I love it and wish I had made the purchase years ago!  It’s awesome and makes slicing veggies so much easier!  The best part?  I got it on sale for $10!  God, I love a good deal!  I suppose it was worth the wait!

DSC04007

 Okay, back to the Skinny Scalloped Potatoes.  They are equally as awesome as my brand new mandolin.  Not only are they easy to make, they are also super yummy and don’t require a bunch of ingredients you don’t have on-hand.  In fact, the only thing I had to go out and buy were the potatoes.  Sweet potatoes aren’t something I eat a lot of, but when I do, I savour every single bite.  Even more so with this delicious recipe!

Here’s what you’ll need …

DSC04012

 First step, peel the potatoes (sadly, my mandolin doesn’t do this) …

DSC04014

 Now comes the fun part – slicing them!  I used my mandolin and sliced them about 1/4 inch thick …

DSC04018

 Layer the sweet potatoes, onion, garlic, spices and cheese in a baking dish …

DSC04021

Keep layering and layering …

DSC04023

 Top the dish with the remainder of the cheese …

DSC04024

Pour the milk over the dish evenly …

DSC04026

Cover and bake at 400 degrees for approx. 20 minutes …

DSC04028

 Uncover the dish and bake for another few minutes to get the cheese slightly crispy and a little bit brown …

DSC04030

Serve and enjoy …

DSC04029

 Mmm, one more look at it in all of its cheesy glory …

DSC04031

INGREDIENTS

  • 3 large sweet potatoes
  • 1 large white onion
  • 3 cloves garlic
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper
  • 3/4 cup skim milk
  • 1/2 cup grated sharp Cheddar (I used 1 cup)

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  • Slice the sweet potatoes and onions as thinly as possible.
  • Chop the garlic.
  • Spray a 9″x13″ casserole dish with nonstick cooking spray.
  • Layer on 1/2 of the sweet potatoes, then sprinkle on 1/3 of the spices.
  • Layer on the onions and garlic and a little bit of cheese, followed by 1/3 of the spices.
  • Layer on the rest of the sweet potatoes and the remaining spices, onions and garlic.
  • Pour on the milk, making sure to cover evenly.
  • Top the casserole with the remainder of the cheese.
  • Bake, covered, for 20 minutes, then remove the lid for another 10 minutes. The vegetables should be tender, and the cheese should be starting to brown.

My husband isn’t a big sweet potato fan and he was a huge fan of these.  I served them alongside another new recipe I tried, Baked Maple & Mustard Chicken.  The whole meal was delicious and something I will be making again soon.

~ Jackie

11 thoughts on “Skinny Scalloped Sweet Potatoes

  1. Pingback: Baked Maple & Mustard Chicken | Sweets.Eats.Treats

  2. Hi Jackie! Followed you back from Carolyn’s Delicious on a Dollar and, I’m guessing (from your familiar ingredients and “bi-lang” measuring cup: ) that you’re somewhere up here in the “Great White North” too…
    Just missed it for Thanksgiving, but definitely going to give your Sweet Potato Scallops a try REALLY soon… They sound great (and look amazing; ) thanks!

    • Hi Deb! Good guess – I am indeed from good old Canada! Where abouts are you located in our marvelous country? Please let me know if you do end up trying these Scalloped Sweet Potatoes out. Speaking of Thanksgiving (hope you had a great one, BTW!), I still need to post a yummy butternut squash casserole recipe I tried. Just need more hours in the day. I’ll try to post it before American Thanksgiving, LOL.

      • Sorry, started a reply, got distracted, lost it. Y’know how that happens…
        I’m central Ontario, not really “in” anywhere, but not terribly far north of “The Lake” (Ontario, that is; )
        How ’bout you?
        Oh, and I found some REALLY gorgeous, locally-grown (massive!) Sweet Potatoes yesterday. Going to try them out on my Birthday Boy tomorrow: )

      • I’m around “The Lake” as well 🙂
        Made a trip to Buffalo yesterday for some cross-border shopping. What a selection they have for baking and cooking! I think I spent more time in shopping in Wegmans than I did in the outlet mall!!
        I hope these scalloped potatoes are just what the birthday boy ordered 🙂 Enjoy!!

Leave a Reply

