Easy Greek Rice

RICE14
Need an easy go-to side dish?  If so, this recipe is right up your alley.  It’s easy, delicious and goes with just about anything.

I have my friend Lence to thank for this recipe.  She served this as a side dish at a BBQ she hosted a few years back.  I took one bite and immediately commented on how good it was and she immediately responded back with how easy it was to make.  She wasn’t kidding.  Not only was it super easy to make, it tasted just like hers – which I consider to be a huge accomplishment because Lence is a great cook and has a European background.

Here’s what you’ll need …

RICE1

 Start by adding your rice to your oven-safe dish …

RICE2

 Next up, add some pepper and a little more than a pinch of salt …

RICE3
Now for the secret ingredient … VEGETA!  This magic seasoning can be found in the spice section of your grocery store.

RICE4
RICE5
Add your olive oil …

RICE6
And your frozen veggies + water …

RICE7
Mix everything together in your oven-safe dish …

RICE8
Throw it in the oven for an hour, making sure to check on it halfway through to give it a little stir …

RICE9
And voila!  The yummiest, easiest, straight-of-the-boat Greek Rice …

RICE12

RICE14

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 cups uncooked rice (I used Uncle Ben’s Converted Rice, but this recipe is great with basmati as well)
  • 4 cups water
  • 1 cup frozen veggies (I normally use corn, peas, carrots and green beans)
  • 2 Tbsp Vegeta (or more to taste)
  • 1 tsp salt (or more to taste)
  • 1 tsp black pepper (or more to taste)
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Preheat oven to 350°
  • Combine rice and spices in an oven-safe container and stir until well-blended.
  • Add olive oil and stir some more.
  • Add water and continue stirring until ingredients are wet and well covered.
  • Add frozen veggies and stir until moistened.
  • Place dish in the oven and bake uncovered for one hour, checking halfway through to see if the rice needs to be stirred.
  • Remove from oven when rice is cooked and to your liking.

Serve Easy Greek Rice alongside your favourite meat dish (it’s great with chicken!) and with some tzatziki for a truly Mediterranean taste.

OPA!

~ Jackie

12 thoughts on “Easy Greek Rice

  1. It’s first time I know you can actually just bake the rice :-). I will try this next time I have basmati rice. And oh the Vegeta seasoning, I agree any dish will taste awesome with it especially soups! Russians I know use it a lot.

  2. Hey Jackie, we make rice like this in Barbados as well 🙂 I have never seen the Vegeta I will keep my eyes peeled for that 🙂 BTW, thanks for visiting our blog. Feel free to follow us for my recipes.

    • I am now following your blog and cannot wait to see what you have in store for your readers.
      I went to Barbados a couple of years back and absolutely loved it. I am so jealous you call it home 🙂

Leave a comment