2 Ingredient / 2 Minute Colesaw

cs-b

 I’d like to start off by saying that I cannot believe that I am actually posting this recipe.  Why, you ask?  Because it’s pretty much the easiest coleslaw recipe on  earth.  Actually, it’s so easy that I’m not even sure it could be considered a “recipe”.  But I do feel like it’s a public service that I do post this recipe, because it is oh so simple and everyone will ask you how you made it and if you can shoot them over the recipe.

When we would have family potlucks, my sister would always bring her famous coleslaw and would receive rave reviews about how good it was.  Fast forward a few years later, my then boyfriend (now husband) and I bought our first home and were having our very first BBQ.  And you can’t have a BBQ without coleslaw, so of course I called my sister up to share her famous coleslaw recipe with me … and what she told me shocked me beyond belief.

I was expecting a complex, step-by-step guide on how to recreate her amazing coleslaw, but what I actually got was quite the opposite.  My sister’s famous coleslaw  – the one that she got asked to bring to every single family event – was only 2 ingredients and under $5 to make!  I thought she was pulling my leg until I actually gave it a try and realized that this was the best kept secret in my family, and now here I am sharing it with you.

Don’t waste your time chopping cabbage, grating carrots and mixing together numerous ingredients.  Instead, run to your nearest grocery store.  Grab a bag of pre-shredded coleslaw mix and a bottle of coleslaw salad dressing.  Take the ingredients home.  Get a bowl.  Mix both ingredients together.  Voila!  You now have amazing coleslaw that cost you less than $5 to make and tastes like something you spent hours making.

Now the big decision is whether you tell people how easy it was to make when they ask you for the recipe 😉

What you’ll need …

DSC03226

Dump the bag of shredded cabbage into a bowl (I used the same one I would be serving the coleslaw out of to save on dishes) …
DSC03231
Pour 1/4 to 1/2 of the bottle of dressing over the shredded cabbage (how much you use all depends on how saucy you like your coleslaw)  and mix it all together …
DSC03232
Serve and enjoy …

DSC03238

 

INGREDIENTS
servings:  4 – 6

  • 1 bag of pre-shredded coleslaw mix
  • 1/4 – 1/2 bottle of Kraft Coleslaw Dressing (adjust based on how saucy you like it)

 

INSTRUCTIONS

  • Combine shredded cabbage with coleslaw dressing and mix them together until the coleslaw is well coated
  • Refrigerate before serving to allow flavours to mix
  • TIP:  This is best served within 1 – 3 hours of being made

See, I told you … this is about the easiest and dummy-proof coleslaw recipe you could ever make.  However, it’s also delicious and a great go-to if you’re having a lot of company over for a BBQ and are fixed for time.  And if you have kids who are eager to help in the kitchen, this would be a perfect task for them – so you can focus on some of the more work intensive tasks … or sit back with an ice cold drink before our company arrives 🙂

~ Jackie

6 thoughts on “2 Ingredient / 2 Minute Colesaw

Leave a comment